UPCN is the new champion in Argentina

Showing great hierarchy UPCN became the champion of the 2010/11 Argentine League in a very exciting and dazzling seventh match.

Click Here: Cardiff Blues Store




As host team, the team coached by Fabian Armoa overcame Drean Bolivar, last four consecutive seasons champion, in the seventh match of the Final Series of the ACLAV Argentine A1 Men Teams League to become champion of the season.

The match ended 3-1 (26-24, 25-20, 23-25, 25-18). The best scorer was Alex Moreno for UPCN with 23 points while Federico Pereyra scored 18 for the team coached by Javier Weber.

The awarding ceremony was held after the last match played in Aldo Cantoni Stadium in the city of San Juan in front of an overcrowded stadium with over 9,500 spectators.

This season’s competition has been very unusual and very competitive and it is the most fought since the best competition for men teams of the country started. The two semi-final series were decided for the first time in the history at their fifth match and this final series also very levelled and exciting ended 4-3 for the San Juan team.

First the team coached by Javier Weber won the first two matches as visiting team – and only had to win their two matches at home to celebrate their fifth consecutive title but, also as visiting team the team coached by Fabián Armoa levelled the series 2-2 winning also the two matches away from home.

San Juan team won then, the third consecutive match, the first one won by either team at home giving UPCN – that lost the final series vs. Bolívar on the prior season – a leadership that allowed them with one more victory, in Bolívar to become champion for the first time in the sixth match.

That sixth match started 2-0 for San Juan team and on the third set, seven match balls for the visiting team did not helped them to close the match and win the title. On the other side of the net, Bolívar coming from behind bounced the match to end in a terrific tie-breaker putting the series for the first time 3-3. Now after 11 years the last possible match was again played. At that time, 2000/01 the local Olympikus de Azul was defeated in a tie-breaker by Náutico Hacoaj – but that series at that time, as established was decided to the best of five matches.

UPCN Voley Club (3): Demián González, Alex Moreno, Gustavo Molina, Junior, Kamil Baranek, Leonardo Patti, Sebastián Garrocq (L)
Substitute players included: Juan Cruz Aramburu, Abel Rojas, Rodrigo Peres Lopes
Coach: Fabián Armoa

Drean Bolívar (1): Luciano De Cecco, Federico Pereyra, Gabriel Arroyo, Sebastián Solé, Javier Filardi, Lucas Ocampo, Pablo Meana (L)
Substitute players included: Iván Castellani, Badá y Nicolás Méndez
Coach: Javier Weber

Referees: J. Mendoza – G. Sánchez
Stadium: Aldo Cantoni – San Juan
Spectators: 9,500

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *